CROCUS SATIVUS

In antique times, Krokus was the name of a handsome boy. Two legends tie his destiny to this misterious plant, which saffron is extracted from. According to the first legend, the Greek god Hermes loved the boy and killed him by accident. The first crocus grew at the spot where Krokus' blood outpoured on the ground.

 
The second legend tells about Krokus' love with Smilax, a nymph. They loved each other so madly that they were inseparable. Growing tired of these neverending flirts, the gods made an end to it by transforming Smilax into a yew tree and Krokus into – what else – a crocus.
 
Probably, Zeus wanted to feel the same passion the night he slept on a mattress filled with saffron...
 
The crocus flower plays an important part in ancient religions, since saffron was one of the most wanted spices in old civilisations. Without exaggerating, one can say that the crocus flower was the queen of the flora in ancient times.

Saffron is the spice taken from the dried grains of the Crocus Sativus L., a type of crocus flower which was grown in ancient times. It is part of the species of the iris (Iridaceae) and is an arduous tuber. The name crocus comes from the Greek language: "krókos" = thread, referring to the threadlike grain of the crocus flower. The appellation saffron comes from the Arab language:

"za'farân". Za'fara means to color with saffron and derives from the words "asfar" = yellow and "safrâ" = yellow flower.

There are doubts about the origin of the lilac saffron crocus, blooming in our hemisphere in October, since it doesn't grow wild anywhere. Most probably, it comes from Asia Minor, between the Ageaes and Iran, which would explain the vast cultivation in Cilicia, in southeastern Turkey. The provenance of the crocus goes back 3'500 years from today, to the Orient. Saffron crocus reached our latitude through Andalusia, brought to Central Europe by mercenaries.

 

People of Switzerland, namely from the Valais, tried to grow saffron crocus at the end of the 14th century, already - and one can find saffron there, still today. The Guild of Saffron was founded on May 4th 1978 in Mund in the Canton of Valais, the only place in Switzerland where saffron crocus survived the industrial and economical evolution of the past 50 years. Nowadays, the guild counts more than 150 members. The Guild of Saffron of Mund patronizes and supports the cultivation of saffron as well as the traditional environment. Following the annual general assembly of the guild, traditionally held in November right after the saffron crop, statutatory business and experiences are exchanged and then the saffron stock market is opened and the treasured spice of Mund is sold – the demand always being by far bigger than the offer.

Scientists of the University of Berne have tried to find out about the hallucinogenic effect of saffron, because authors of the ancient world already warned about too high dosage of saffron, leading to serious symptoms of empoisoning or even to death. Between 10 and 20 gramms can be leathal for a human being. First symptoms are giggles, followed by paralysis of the central nervous system. Old stories tell of a man having laughed himself to death after having eaten meat which was overseasoned with saffron.

 

Saffron remains clouded in secrecy, especially through historical events such as criminal incidents like theft, counterfeit and smuggling. It is a precious substance, which seems to have not only seasoning, but also healing and hallucinogenic effects on human beings.

 

In 1374, the Baron of Bechburg and his men attacked a train coming from Lyon with destination Basel at the Oberer Hauenstein and stole 400 kg of saffron threads, which corresponds to about 50'000'000 (50 millions!) crocus flower grains, totalling to a value of approximately 5 Million Swiss Francs nowadays.

Since mankind has always wanted to enrich himself, once the value of saffron was discovered, the precious powder has been illegally diluted with cement, flour, talc powder and other substances – unmistakably reminding of today's drug dealers.

 

No wonder that, in medieval times, offices were established all over Europe, controlling the genuinity of this natural product. The Ufficio dello Zafferano in Venice was one of them.

 
Sources:
  • Mund, Das Safrandorf im Wallis, von Erwin Jossen, Rotten-Verlag, Brig
  • Les Epices, von Jan-Öjvind Swahn, Verlag Gründ, Paris
  • dtv-Lexikon, Deutscher Taschenbuchverlag, München

CROCUS SATIVUS

 
Dans l’Antiquité, Crocus était le nom d’un beau jeune homme. Deux légendes relatent son destin impliquant une plante mystérieuse, de laquelle est issu le safran. Selon la première légende, le dieu grec du commerce Hermès était amoureux de ce jeune homme et le tua par mégarde. La première fleur de crocus poussa à l’endroit où le sang de Crocus se déversa sur le sol.
 
Dans la seconde légende, il est question de l’amour que Crocus portait à la nymphe Smilax. Ils s’aimaient tellement qu’ils étaient inséparables. Les dieux, las de ces flirts incessants, y mirent fin en transformant Smilax en if et Crocus – comment pourrait-il en être autrement ? – en fleur de crocus.
 
C’était sans doute pour ressentir cette même passion que Zeus dormit un jour sur un matelas garni de safran.
 
Le crocus a dû jouer un rôle important dans les religions antiques car le safran était une des épices les plus appréciées par les civilisations anciennes. On peut prétendre sans exagérer que le crocus était le roi de la flore dans la préhistoire.

Le safran est une épice tirée du stigmate séché de la fleur de Crocus sativus l., une espèce de crocus cultivée durant l’Antiquité. Le crocus fait partie de l’ordre des iris (iridacées), riche en espèces, et est une plante tubéreuse résistante. Le nom crocus vient du grec « krókos » et signifie fil, en rapport avec le stigmate de la fleur de crocus qui ressemble à un fil.

La désignation safran vient de l’arabe « za’farân ». Za’fara signifie « colorer avec du safran » et vient des mots « asfar » = jaune et « safrâ » = fleur jaune. 
L’origine du crocus de safran violet clair, qui fleurit sous nos latitudes au mois d’octobre, est incertaine car on ne le trouve nulle part à l’état sauvage. On suppose qu’il vient des steppes d’Anatolie, situées entre la mer Égée et l’Iran, ce qui expliquerait pourquoi il a longtemps été cultivé de façon intensive en Cilicie, au sud-est de la Turquie. L’origine du crocus nous ramène 3’500 ans en arrière, en Orient. Le crocus de safran est arrivé sous nos latitudes par l’Andalousie, d’où les mercenaires l’ont ensuite amené dans tous les pays d’Europe centrale.
 
En Suisse, dans le Valais plus précisément, les premières tentatives de plantation de crocus de safran remontent à la fin du 14e siècle. Aujourd’hui, le safran y est encore cultivé.
À Mund VS, le seul endroit de Suisse où le crocus de safran a survécu à l’évolution industrielle et économique des cinquante dernières années, la corporation du safran a vu le jour le 4 mai 1978 et compte aujourd’hui plus de 150 membres.
 
La corporation du safran de Mund promeut et soutient la culture de safran ainsi que l’environnement traditionnel. Lors de l’assemblée générale, qui a toujours lieu après la récolte du safran au mois de novembre, on échange ses expériences après avoir réglé les affaires statutaires, et l’épice de Mund tant convoitée est ensuite mise à la vente à la bourse du safran. La demande est toujours bien plus élevée que l’offre.

Une équipe de chercheurs de l’université de Berne a tenté d’élucider l’effet hallucinogène du safran. Les auteurs de l’Antiquité avaient déjà mis en garde contre de trop fortes doses de safran, qui peuvent entraîner une intoxication voire la mort. La dose mortelle pour l’homme est de 10 à 20 grammes de cette noble poudre. On dit que la première phase suivant la prise est une crise de fou rire, à laquelle succède une paralysie du système nerveux central. Dans de vieilles histoires, on raconte qu’un homme est littéralement mort de rire après avoir savouré une viande trop épicée au safran.

Dans beaucoup d’événements historiques, en particulier des actes criminels tels que le vol, la falsification et la fraude, lesafran est présenté comme une substance mystérieuse et précieuse, ayant sur le corps humain des effets curatifs et hallucinogènes en plus de ses caractéristiques aromatiques.

Ainsi, en 1374, le baron de Brechburg et sa suite ont assailli sur le col du Haut- Hauenstein un train de commerçants voyageant de Lyon à Bâle et ont volé 8 quintaux (400 kg) de fils de safran, ce qui correspond aux stigmates d’environ 50’000’000 (cinquante millions) de fleurs de crocus et équivaudrait, selon le pouvoir d’achat actuel, à environ cinq millions de francs.

Depuis que l’homme, toujours à la recherche de la richesse, connaît le safran, cette poudre précieuse a été illégalement coupée avec du plâtre, de la farine, du talc, etc., ce qui correspond indéniablement aux habitudes actuelles des dealers dans le milieu de la drogue.

Il n’est donc pas étonnant qu’au Moyen Âge, des offices ont été créés en Europe pour vérifier l’authenticité du produit naturel. À Venise, cet office s’appelait l’UFFICIO DELLO ZAFFERANO.

 
Indications des sources:    
  • Mund, Das Safrandorf im Wallis, von Erwin Jossen, Rotten-Verlag, Brig
  • Les Epices, von Jan-Öjvind Swahn, Verlag Gründ, Paris
  • dtv-Lexikon, Deutscher Taschenbuchverlag, München